Friday, March 30, 2012

Jacket Copy

A deadly half-Japanese half-American woman ex-assassin tries to atone for her dark past by rebuilding a Zen temple on a remote island. But violent people won't let her alone.

Orphaned at nine, the blue-eyed and black-haired Molly Vance is brought up in Tokyo by a taciturn yakuza gangster and trained thoroughly in the martial arts by the head of an ancient cult of woman assassins who all wear the tattoo of a Habu Kurage (the poisonous stinging Medusa jellyfish). At 18, she avenges her adoptive father's death in a bloody rampage that destroys an entire rival yakuza clan. She then becomes a feared international assassin working for an ultra-mysterious criminal group known only as "the Organization." But upon realizing the true motives behind the killings she is assigned, the beautiful and deadly"Akiko" quits the business and retires under a false identity to a remote island in the Sea of Japan, where she begins singlehandedly rebuilding a Zen temple to expunge her dark karma. Now the Organization has found a way to get at Molly through people in her past. To save their lives and her own, she will have to unleash all her fury.

Some Readers Respond

(These short reviews of THE LONELINESS OF THE BLUE-EYED ASSASSIN are from the Web site

"I got caught up with this at work . . . didn't want to stop reading . . . I love your style of writing . . . it is smooth and easy to read and I found myself so quickly immersed in the story and the haunting, descriptive way in which you write it. I am already fixating on Akiko (Molly) . . . framing her image in my mind . . . deadly, I know. Another complete story that I will read to the end. Many thanks for sharing this powerful piece of writing."

"Epic, classic, forged in the blast-oven of unflinching honesty. These characters live knowingly in the shadow cast by death, neither afraid to face their fate nor the exit point, and so live totally in the moment given. Beautiful, spare, direct prose, conveying understanding and acceptance of the ancient credo: Live by the sword, die by the sword, honor is the dying man's greatest possession; honor life and respect those about to die, for they tread a path we all shall tread. Cinematic, in the great tradition of Shawscope movies from the 70's. The scene of Ogata and Jack Vance in the bar and on the dock is riveting, real, mythic."

"This was just amazing to read. Such an interesting story and then so beautifully written! Your unusual approach to dialogue only added to the story in that it furthered it in being a story that felt foreign and rich."

"Not my usual genre, but it is extremely fast paced, and a thrilling read. Your characters are fascinating, as is the original storyline."

"This is a fascinating story - fast and sassy, with incredible action. Extremely well written and a real page turner."

"What a fascinating ride. A roller-coaster which no sooner slows down than it races away again. Excellent work and very hard to put down."

"You've constructed an engaging thriller. The characters shine and have depth. The insightful narrative glows. Crisp descriptions of settings and scenes. Strong structure. Adept writing. A captivating read."

"This is lyrical, sophisticated writing. Literary is a word I don't often use, but I think it can be truly applied to your work. And I call it a 'work' rather than a book, because it seems to me it's a kind of masterpiece - something which, like an early Renaissance oil painting, takes painstaking brush strokes, time and skill to produce."

The First Novel in the "Akiko" Series

For fans of James Bond, Jason Bourne, Nicolai Hel -- and Nikita.

A deadly half-Japanese half-American woman ex-assassin tries to atone for her dark past by rebuilding a Zen temple on a remote island. But violent people won't let her alone.

THE LONELINESS OF THE BLUE-EYED ASSASSIN is now a low-priced Amazon/Kindle e-book!

"Okamoto deftly avoids the usual pitfalls that bedevil the action genre and has created something original, exciting, and totally unexpected." *****

"An extraordinary razor-honed orgy of Asian mysticism, bloodshed and sex."

Download the free Kindle app. for your iPhone or other device, or read the book online on Amazon's Cloud Reader.